Now for Something Completely Different… Shamisen Edition

Instead of poetry, I thought I would upload a video to YouTube of me playing my version of Kodo by the Yoshida Bros.  Now, it’s not perfect and the sound is pretty bad, but it took me so many takes to get that much of it right. As for the sunglass, they make me cool and I also dropped my real glasses in Sky Pond. For those of you who don’t know what the shamisen is, I not only encourage you to watch my video, but check out some of my favorites by much better players:

  • Kodo as played by Yoshida Bros.
  •  Lady Gaga’s Paparazzi actually made good by Kyle Abbot and friends,
  • The classic Rokudan as played by Kevin Kmetz (he played some of the shamisen pieces for Kubo and the Two Strings)
  • A couple of nice ladies kicking ass under some cherry blossoms

And there are plenty of others. Together, we can make shamisen cool.

That’s Gypsy, our cat, in the picture (and briefly in the video at 45 sec or so). She’s not really a fan of shamisen as she tells me every time I play.

Leave a comment